James Moran Signs on as 40th Co-Sponsor for IGREA

Recommend this!

Yet another Representative has signed on to support Barney Frank’s IGREA bill. Representative James Moran of Virginia signed on to help this past Thursday. This happened right after the Poker Players Alliance held a conference in Washington D.C. Moran has not been a fan of online gambling in the past. He voted yes for the passing of the UIGEA last year and in 2003 voted yes to ban Internet gambling using a credit card.

Times seem to be changing as Moran became co-sponsor for Representative Robert Wexler’s Skill Game Protection Act. This act would exempt poker from an online gambling ban. Now with his support of Barney Frank’s IGREA bill he seems to have turned a complete 180.

Moran has been in the House of Representatives for nine terms and serves on the Defense Subcommittee and the Interior Subcommittee for the Appropriations Committee. His signup is the 40th on the long list of co-sponsors and there will probably soon be more. There have been several new supporters signup in the last two months. If you agree with the new legislation trying to be past contact your local government and let them know. The internet has made it incredibly easy to contact government officials through email or websites.

The other co-sponsors are:

Neil Abercrombie (D-Hawaii)
Gary Ackerman (D-N.Y.)
Joe Baca (D-Calif.)
Shelley Berkley (D-Nev.)
Howard Berman (D-Calif.)
Michael Capuano (D-Mass.)
Russ Carnahan (D-Mo.)
Julia Carson (D-Ind.)
William lacy Clay (D-Mo.)
Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.)
Joseph Crowley (D-N.Y.)
William Delahunt (D-Mass.)
Bob Filner (D-Calif.)
Vito Fossella (R-N.Y.)
Raul Grijalva (D-Ariz.)
Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.)
Alcee Hastings (D-Fla.)
Michael Honda (D-Calif.)
Steve Israel (D-N.Y.)
Peter King (R-N.Y.)
Carolyn McCarthy (D-N.Y.)
Jim McDermott (D-Wash.)
James McGovern (D-Mass.)
Charlie Melancon (D-La.)
Ron Paul (R-Texas)
Ed Perlmutter (D-Colo.)
Ciro Rodriguez (D-Texas)
Steven Rothman (D-N.J.)
Linda Sanchez (D-Calif.)
Adam Schiff (D-Calif.)
Robert Scott (D-Va.)
Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.)
Edolphus Towns (D-N.Y.)
Melvin Watt (D-N.C.)
Anthony Weiner (D-N.Y.)
Robert Wexler (D-Fla.)
Lynn Woolsey (D-Calif.)
Albert Wynn (D-Md.)
Don Young (R-Alaska)

Leave a Reply